Fine Water

I saw and airing of “Nightline” a while back and I fell in love with a segment that discussed premium, or fine, bottled water. The bottles were beautiful. One day I decided to explore the companies that are apart of this industry, purely for my viewing pleasure. I found the following website:

Bottled Water of the World

Here are some of my favorite bottles:

My favorite bottle.
My favorite bottle.

I love that it’s glass, that gives an artisanal look. There’s an also an antiquated, old world feeling. I wouldn’t hesitate to reuse this bottle after the water is gone. It would make a great vase for a few fresh flowers. This bottle’s shape reminds me of an old medicine container, and indeed water is good for you. The position of the two types of text, the brand name and the smaller text below, reads as word and definition. I haven’t been able to see all of the smaller text, but from what I’ve been able to read from photos taken it explains where the water is sourced from. The words sure, scientific and mature come to mind.

BergThis is a smaller size of Berg water. I find the emerald green “glow” beautiful. I like how the plastic has been molded in the shape of a glacier. The tint of color and the bottle’s shape feels refreshing, cool and calm. The minimal text and fluff, reads as clean, and sharp.

EquaI’m big on the minimalist look of these bottles. The frosted bottle gives the look of instantly, perpetually cool (as in temperature, not style — though the bottle does look cool). The repetition of thin circles just behind the text makes me think of water ripples. The color pallet compared with the outline of a butterfly references playfulness (approachability) and tropical, but the package still remain sophisticated. Sophistication from the lightly frosted exterior and the fact Equa is considered fine water. Transparent and a rejuvenating, vibrant shade of blue connects to purity and simplicity, as well as the lively colors of the rainforest which is the source of the water.

The whole bottle water topic is like an art, this obviously isn’t your run of the mill grocery store water, at least that’s the understanding you get just by looking at the packaging. The water comes from different sources, sometimes remote and with little human activity. There is a manipulation of the image of how we all have viewed water. Water, seen as free or at least inexpensive, becomes a hot, sometimes doctored commodity. I hadn’t known water bottles had been so well designed and so pretty before. I would venture out and splurge on any of the bottles, but particularly Antipodes, because the container looks so great, plus it’s reusable. Fine water is my new obsession.

Leave a Reply

